6 Comments
Feb 17, 2022Liked by Tom Basso

Sage advice

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2022Liked by Tom Basso

So true!

Expand full comment

This is good advice!

Expand full comment

Thanks for this piece Tom. At what point in your career did you decide that you wanted to manage money? Ie started as a independent trader, when did that outlook change?

Expand full comment
author

I started trading at 22 in order to build net worth and have an emergency fund, since chemical engineering had been boom and bust in the 60’s. I started getting bored with my engineering job and working in a corporate environment about 4-5 years later and was essentially managing an investment club. That turned into a registered investment advisor and a few years later a Commodity Trading Advisor. With a nice portfolio behind me and some money already under management, I went full time at 30 years old and worked my butt off. At 50 years old, I realized that I wanted to be an independent trader again and closed Trendstat Capital in 2003. Now happily retired almost 19 years. The money management industry is a lot of responsibility and liability and I felt at that point, “what is the point?” Love independent trading, because you are not restricted as much when managing your own assets. Client expectations and government reg’s have made the money management industry a more difficult challenge than it needs to be. I am now really enjoying the ride!

Expand full comment
Feb 4, 2022Liked by Tom Basso

Thanks for that Tom. Great insight, I am sort of at that Juncture at the moment. Weather to launch a Fund or something or continue working (as an engineer!)/Trading on the side. Thats great feedback appreciate your thoughts. Same here, enjoy the ride!

Expand full comment